The Geek Genuflects

4:52 PM – I’ve drank twice as much coffee as two days ago but half as much as yesterday. Glory.

***

“I never make such big decisions so long after sunset and so far from dawn.” – Francis ‘Frank’ Underwood, from House of Cards, episode one

My current list:

  • House of Cards
  • Arrested Development
  • The Son
  • Bird By Bird
  • Crooked Little Hearts
  • World War Z
  • Star Trek and then that new Star Trek
  • This Is The End
  • Zac and Miri
  • The Green Hornet
  • Rolling Stone : The Doobie Brothers issue with Seth Rogen on the cover
  • The Nerdist interview with Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg
  • Man of Steel
  • Esquire and The New Yorker and The New Yorker and The New Yorker and The Atlantic
  • The Bling Ring (as well as Sofia Coppola’s entire filmography, just for the reminder)
  • Much Ado About Nothing (text and film)
  • the new Patty record
  • and maybe the new Black Sabbath record, but just for giggles
  • and this other stack of books and records here by the dining room table, by my left elbow, near the corner where I set my coffee cup and read the spines again while retrieving the caffeine I need just to get through this stack before that stack

For the life of me, I cannot remember the last time I felt bored. There is too much to read and watch and hear and write and make and share and send to friends. Where is there room to lay down? To sleep? To sigh out the window waiting for life to swoop down and poop excitements on our shoulders? Today I battle sleep and the daily grind that distracts from funner distractions. And I battle the unspoken voices that turn luxuries into responsibilities, and I am still learning to slow down and enjoy. There is so much there, yet so little for which and when to acquire. To have space to read. To have words to write. To have occasion to consume what others have painstakingly created. It is good, and I will never reach the end.

About Kiki Malone

Girding till the break of dawn.
This entry was posted in Books, Cinevision, Scary Rants, Still Thinking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Geek Genuflects

  1. waiting for life to swoop down and poop excitements on our shoulders. My favorite line.

Leave a Reply

